PR Questions and Family

 

 

Around the world there is one bond that ties everyone, that bond is the bond of family. When many people grow up they have dreams of being a police officer, a doctor, a pro athlete, or a teacher.

family-027_orig.jpg

I know for a fact that I never showed any interest in Public Relations as a child, to entering a 4 year university in the public relations major shocked my family, both immediate and extended.

 

This has led me to the point where I need to tell my family time and time again what it is exactly I do. Each time I explain it slightly different based on the experience I have cultivated.

 

I am thankful to Public Relations Society of America (PRSSA) and Forbes for finally helping find a cemented way to describe what PR is. Before I found these definitions I always did my best to explain that I was going to be working on a company’s image, and trying to refocus to positive aspects.

 

PRSSA describes PR as “Public relations is a strategic communication process that builds mutually beneficial relationships between organizations and their publics.”

 

While this is true, I don’t believe it constitutes exactly what Public Relations Is, or how  hard one works to build those relationships.

 

The Princeton review says “public relations is about cultivating, influencing, engaging and maintaining a relationship with key stakeholders to contribute to the way an organization is perceived.”

pr

I believe that this is the best representation found to describe Public Relations professionals because it gives more of a full picture other than building relationships. It gives a glimpse of a job that normally can’t be explained easily.

 

I would not describe my future career in any other way to anyone else.

 

https://apps.prsa.org/AboutPRSA/PublicRelationsDefined/index.html#.WI_kwhsrJhE
http://www.forbes.com/sites/robertwynne/2016/01/21/five-things-everyone-should-know-about-public-relations/#18ca6c94436b
https://www.princetonreview.com/careers/171/public-relations
http://msgoodin5thgradefamily.weebly.com/uploads/2/3/1/1/23117024/family-027_orig.jpg
http://www.musicmarketing360.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/pr.jpg

Leave a Reply

